Statement from Council: FSIN Elections

For Immediate Release

October 12, 2017


Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation, Treaty 6 – The following statement from Council was released today regarding the upcoming FSIN Assembly and Elections on October 25-26 in Saskatoon, SK:

“The FSIN Election is an opportunity for the collective voice of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation to be heard at the provincial level through the selection of our FSIN Executive. As a Charter Member of the FSIN, the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation is allotted 22 voting delegates.

Our Council has selected delegates that we feel strike a fair balance of genders, families, age groups, and representation from urban and on-reserve members from the Beardy’s and Okemasis’ Cree Nation.

In the interest of transparency, the following members of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation have been notified and selected as voting delegates for the FSIN Assembly and Election:

  • Chief C. Roy Petit
  • Councillor Edwin Ananas
  • Councillor Leighanne Gardipy-Bill
  • Councillor Jeremy Seeseequasis
  • Councillor Kevin Seesequasis
  • Councillor Jackie Gamble
  • Councillor Tyrone Smallchild
  • Jaye Cameron
  • Garnet Eyahpaise
  • Candace Scott
  • Gerald Gamble
  • Howard (Hal) Cameron
  • Lorraine Cameron
  • George Mike
  • Jasna Gamble
  • Gary Arcand
  • Jeanne Sutherland
  • Krista Gardypie
  • Marguerite Gamble
  • Marcel Petit
  • Darlene Okemaysim-Sicotte
  • Joseph Angus Esperance

A Candidate Forum has been scheduled for 7pm at the Rec Centre on October 16th, 2017 to meet with the candidates for 2nd and 4th Vice-Chiefs of the FSIN. All candidates have confirmed their attendance. The candidates are:

Second Vice-Chief

  • Jobb, Simon (Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation)
  • Pratt, David (Muscowpetung First Nation)
  • Whitefish, Lyle (Big River First Nation)

Fourth Vice-Chief

  • Bear, Heather (Ochapowace First Nation)
  • Favel, Fenton (Poundmaker First Nation)
  • Pahtayken, Delores (Onion Lake Cree Nation)

Our Council would like to thank the delegates that have agreed to represent our Nation and we look forward to meeting with the candidates at our Candidate Forum on October 16th. All delegates and members of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation are invited to attend. The Candidate Forum will be live-streamed on the Chief & Council Facebook page for those not able to attend.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Chief & Council Communications
306-467-4523 ext 237

BOCN signs “Friendship Agreement” with local Municipalities

For Immediate Release

September 30, 2017

Rosthern, SK – Chief Roy Petit of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation joined local municipal leaders from the towns of Rosthern, Hague, Waldheim, Hepburn, and Duck Lake, the Village of Laird, and the RM of Rosthern today to sign a “Friendship Agreement” – the first of many steps toward improved cooperation in the “First Nations – Municipal Community Infrastructure Partnership Project” (CIPP) through the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM).

Our Friendship Agreement is a non-binding agreement – it creates the foundation we’ll all need to work together in partnership on some of the challenges facing our communities today: the environment, economic development, and so much more” said Chief Petit. “It is our hope that in the spirit of reconciliation, our new partnership will be the beginning of positive relationships between us and our neighbours.

I’m really grateful that we have participation from all our regional partners” added Dennis Helmuth, Mayor of Rosthern. “As we move forward with the signing of the Friendship Agreement, we know that this is not a silver bullet, but rather, it is an indication and a commitment that we will be good neighbours and friends, and work together on projects of mutual interest for all our communities.

The objective of the Community Infrastructure Partnership Project is to strengthen partnerships between communities, identify areas of mutual interest, and explore specific ways for the communities might work together.

The unsigned “Friendship Agreement” can be viewed here. You can view a video recording of the signing ceremony here. You can learn more about the Community Infrastructure Partnership Project here.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Chief & Council Communications
306-467-4523 ext 237