For Immediate Release

October 23, 2018


Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation, Treaty 6 Territory – The following statement from Council was released today regarding the upcoming FSIN Assembly and Elections on October 24-25 in Saskatoon, SK:

“The FSIN Election is an opportunity for the collective voice of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation to be heard at the regional level through the selection of our FSIN Executive. As a Charter Member of the FSIN, the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation is allotted 22 voting delegates.

Our Council has selected delegates that we feel strike a fair balance of gender, family, age groups (elders/youth), and representation from urban and on-reserve members from the Beardy’s and Okemasis’ Cree Nation.

In the interest of transparency, the following members of the Beardy’s & Okemasis’ Cree Nation have been notified and selected as voting delegates for the FSIN Assembly and Election:

  • Okimahkan C. Roy Petit;
  • Councillor Edwin Ananas;
  • Councillor Leighanne Gardipy;
  • Councillor Jeremy Seeseequasis;
  • Councillor Kevin Seesequasis
  • Councillor Jackie Gamble
  • Councillor Tyrone Smallchild
  • Christian Seeseequasis
  • Harry Michael Jr.
  • Sheryl Okemaysim
  • Jeanne Sutherland
  • Angus Esperance
  • Clayton Sutherland
  • Leona Cameron
  • Suzanne Seesequasis
  • Roderick Smallchild
  • Lorna Tobaccojuice
  • Shireen Gamble
  • Roxanne Yahyakeekoot
  • Leah Gamble

Candidates seeking election are:


  • CAMERON, Bobby
  • WAPASS, Delbert

First Vice-Chief

  • POORMAN, Darrin
  • WATSON, Morley

Third Vice-Chief

  • BUGLER, Corey
  • JACK, Christine
  • LERAT, Edward (Dutch)

Our Council would like to thank the delegates that have agreed to represent our Nation.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Chief & Council Communications
306-467-4523 ext 237

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.